Baked chili cheese fries.

with burger

I wish my favorite food was something like kale. Or quinoa. Or a green smoothie. Not that I don’t like these things (well, I’ve never actually had a green smoothie. I’ll get there.), but French fries have my heart. This is not a good thing for me – especially with an annual physical coming up (I am certain I’ll be admonished for my mass spud consumption, which will probably show up in my bloodwork because there’s no way that my veins are not full of starch) – but it could be a good thing for you … especially if you’ve been hankering for chili fries but haven’t had a chance to make a pot of chili. And seriously, who’s going to make a pot of chili for the sole purpose of putting them on fries? I mean… you could, but you’d have to make the chili and the fries, and that, my friends, is not going to happen in this girl’s kitchen. Especially not on a Monday night. I’m sure Colin (the superior dish washer of the duo) is grateful for that, too.

I can’t take credit for the idea of making glop-free chili fries – that honor goes to Joy the Baker. I only made slight changes to the recipe, and am looking forward to making them again with even more changes. Like adding a pinch of cayenne, or some smoked paprika. I dunno, things might get a little crazy over here.

peels

sliced

coated

sheets

cheese

sheet done

fries 1

Also, my next post won’t feature potatoes. I promise. I know that you all probably don’t share the same unwavering, fanatical love for spuds that I do – and even if you do, you probably realize that potatoes should probably be a sometimes food, so I’ll um… work on that.

Baked chili cheese fries (adapted slightly from Joy the Baker)
4 potatoes
3 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp worcestershire sauce
3 tbsp corn starch
2 tbsp chili powder
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
1/4 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Preheat your oven to 425F, and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a small bowl, mix your cornstarch, chili powder, red pepper flakes, garlic powder, cumin and salt.

Rinse and peel potatoes, then slice into fries. Here are Joy’s instructions, which I actually followed instead of just hacking away at my potatoes and hoping they resembled fries in a, like, culinary-shabby-chic-but-really-just-shabby sort of way: Using a sharp knife, slice a  1/4-inch piece off the potato lengthwise.  This will give you a stable base to slice on.  Rest the potato, cut side down, and slice potato into 1/4 to 3/8-inch planks. Stack planks in piles 2 to 3 planks high, and slice lengthwise into 1/4 to 3/8-inch strips.  And… you just cut French fries!!

Put your sliced potatoes in a large bowl with your olive oil and Worcestershire sauce and toss to coat. Next, sprinkle the cornstarch mixture over the potato slices and toss to coat.

Spread potatoes in a single layer across the prepared baking sheets. Bake for 40 minutes. Since my oven is not large enough for me to place two baking sheets on the same rack, I switched the sheets halfway through, and also took them out to flip the potatoes two more times – basically, the potatoes were prodded every 10 minutes.

After 40 minutes, remove from the oven, top with cheese and return to the oven until the cheese melts, about 2 minutes. Serve, perhaps with a nice burger.

Happy eating!

3 thoughts on “Baked chili cheese fries.

  1. Oh my golly gosh. I totally get you on the spud thing. I am a potato fiend, I’m obsessed with them and I’m sure that the love will never, ever die. These fries look absolutely to-die-for. Cheese coated potato bliss. Definitely making these!

  2. Pingback: Spaghetti squash gremolata. | tuppershare

Leave a Reply

