Asian roasted potatoes.

plate 2

Now, I know what you’re thinking: “Um, Lauren, you already at least a dozen recipes featuring potatoes on here. You have two different recipes for roasted potatoes on here. If you keep this up, you are going to turn into a potato.”

Well, maybe I am. But guys, please. Hear me out. These potatoes are aaaawesooooome. Like, so good. They’re crisp and salty and so full of flavor. It’s probably safe to say that like them as much as the go-to recipe I can’t get enough of. I’ve made them twice in as many weeks, and I already want them again.

raw 1 soy sesame plate 3

I decided to experiment with the flavors often found in Asian cooking (sesame oil, ginger, soy sauce), since I’d never really had potatoes that featured those flavors. Rice and noodles – the other two go-to carb-y side dishes – seemed to be having all the fun, and I wanted to see if those flavors would lend themselves to spuds. They did, guys. They did. I mean, I obviously have something of a potato addiction, so perhaps I’m a little biased, but you should give these a whirl anyway. If you’re a fan of the flavors of Asian cooking, you won’t be disappointed. Also, if you’re a fan of Asian-inspired cooking, you likely already have all of these ingredients in your cabinet, so yeah. Make these. Get on it.

Asian roasted potatoes
4 medium-sized potatoes, cut into small cubes (I’ve used russets, yukon golds and reds)
2 tbsp sesame oil
3 tbsp soy sauce
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp garlic powder
pinch red pepper flakes (optional)

Preheat your oven to 450F. Place your potatoes in a large baking dish, then drizzle with soy sauce and sesame oil. Sprinkle the potatoes with ground ginger, garlic power and, if using, red pepper flakes. Toss to combine.

Place the baking dish in the oven for about 25 minutes. Remove, shuffle the potatoes around, then return to the oven for another 20-25 minutes.

plate 1

Happy eating!

12 thoughts on “Asian roasted potatoes.

  1. Pingback: Fathers Day Dinner 2014, and the root of why I love cooking. | tuppershare

  2. Pingback: Spaghetti squash gremolata. | tuppershare

Leave a Reply

