Leftover steak pizza.

pizza baked 1

Since I have yet to master the whole cooking for one or two people thing (as opposed to cooking for an entire freaking army thing), I often find myself with leftovers. Like anyone with at least a few brain cells and semblance of a soul, I loathe wasting food, but I also admit that eating the same exact thing two or three days in a row is monotonous. So, I’m always looking for ways to turn my leftovers into something new! different! fancy!

Enter this pizza.

I asked Colin to take a steak out of the freezer for me while I was at work, and came home to find two defrosted flank steaks on the counter. (Also, yes, I’m shocked that Sam didn’t countersurf and scarf them both down.) So, naturally, I found myself with some leftover flank steak the next day. While eating some leftover steak and spinach salad, and trying to figure out what to do with said steak, I got the idea for a steakhouse-y pizza with caramelized onions and crumbled blue cheese.

pizza before

Guys, it refused to go away. REFUSED. It haunted me. It needed to be made, like, yesterday.

I won’t lie to you, this pizza is rich, so be sure to share it. Invite some friends over. Have your slice with a nice green salad. Also, this would probably be awesome with mushrooms, either as an addition or a replacement for the steak, for you vegetarians.

Leftover steak pizza (serves 4)
1 ball frozen pizza dough, thawed
4-6 oz. flank steak, cut into bite-size pieces (mine had been marinated in an olive oil/soy sauce/worcestershire/garlic/etc. blend of deliciousness)
1/2 red onion
3 tbsp butter
pinch sugar
pinch salt
2 oz crumbled blue cheese
handful arugula
corn meal

Melt your butter in a large saucepan, then add your onions, sugar and salt. Saute for at least 30 minutes, until golden brown.

Prehead your oven to about 450F. Sprinkle some corn meal on a pizza stone (ideally) or a baking sheet, if you don’t have a pizza stone.

Roll out your pizza dough on a lightly floured surface – this is a good tutorial. I’ve also found that if the dough is too sticky, I coat my hands in bread flour. Move the dough to your corn meal-coated pizza stone or baking sheet and bake for about 8-10 minutes.

Take the dough out of the onion (it should be starting to turn slightly golden, but still a bit doughy). Spread your onions across the dough, then add your flank steak and crumbled blue cheese. Before adding the arugula, chop or tear it coarsely and steam it in a bit of water for about 1-2 minutes. Top with arugula and bake for another 10-15 minutes. If you want the cheese to be extra melty, turn your broiler on for about a minute or two.

slice

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

