Greek salad couscous.

little bowl 2

I know. I know. It’s been like, three weeks since I last posted. I was away for a week, then I was simultaneously busy and lazy for another week, and now… I’m getting back on track.

I believe I’ve mentioned before that at my old job, I was spoiled by our cafeteria. It was staffed by two very sweet women and one very nice dude, who just so happened to have been trained at the Culinary Institute of America (and shared some recipes with me, which was awesome). There were fresh soups and salads every day, with “deli” sandwich specials and hot meal specials, and everything was delicious, all the time.  This iteration of Greek salad was featured pretty often, sometimes with chickpeas and other times with Israeli couscous. I always made room on my plate for a little scoop of it. I finally got around to buying a canister of Israeli couscous a few weeks ago, and made my own version of it. You should make it too, especially if you have an olive thing. I…have an olive thing. I’m not proud of this, but I ate a whole can of pitted green olives this weekend. I keep buying them with recipe-related intentions, and then I just scarf them all down and wonder how I got here.

onions 2

tomatoes

cucumbers

vegs 1

bowl 1

 

If you manage to restrain yourself and don’t devour an entire jar of kalamata olives in the process (please know that I wouldn’t judge you if you did), you can enjoy a scoop of this on a bed of romaine hearts, or wrapped in a tortilla, or, like I did, all by itself. Possibly straight out of a tupperware container.

Greek salad couscous
2 cups Israeli couscous, uncooked
3/4 cup chopped cucumber
3/4 cup grape tomatoes, halved
3/4 cup kalamata olives, chopped
3/4 cup red onion, chopped
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
1/2 tsp dried oregano
salt & pepper
1/2 cup crumbled feta

If raw onions are a little overwhelming for your tastes (they are for mine), soak your onions in cold water for about 10 minutes.

While your onions are soaking, bring 3 cups of water to a boil and add your couscous. Simmer for about 8-10 minutes. While you’re waiting for the couscous to be done, chop your vegetables.

Mix together your olive oil, red wine vinegar, dried oregano, salt and pepper with a fork until blended.

Once the couscous is done, drain it and add it to a large bowl. If you’d prefer your salad cold, run some cold tap water over the couscous while you’re draining it. Add your vegetables, dressing and feta, then toss to combine.

bowl 2

Annnnnnd you’re done! Happy eating.

3 thoughts on “Greek salad couscous.

Leave a Reply

