Mushroom-brussels sprout hash.

bowl 1

I have a new breakfast-related goal. Okay, two breakfast-related goals, which are actually in diametric opposition to one another. One is to stop eating so much bacon (ugh), and the other is to develop seasonally-appropriate hashes (which, let’s be honest, will probably all feature bacon). I’m a little late on this one, given that it’s technically spring (even though it was 28 degrees this morning and we’re supposed to get snow tomorrow, despaaaaaiiiiiir), but I’ve been loving brussels sprouts lately, and the mushrooms in my fridge were on the verge of going bad, and letting mushrooms go to waste is a sin.

Brussels sprouts have been a much-maligned veggie in popular culture, for some reason I can’t seem to fathom. I never had to eat them as a kid – and perhaps I’d understand if I had been forced to eat them for dinner all the time – but I worked them into my repertoire last year, and Colin and I are both pretty big fans. I mean, when you combine roasted vegetables with olive oil, salt and pepper, it’s hard to go wrong. And they’re adorable! They’re like baby cabbages!

That’s right, I’m a grown woman gushing over cruciferous vegetables. Come. at. me.

Really, the only bad experiences I’ve had with brussels sprouts are when they’re eaten raw. This winter, I made two different kinds of brussels sprout salad, and both times they filled me with nothing but abject sadness. Fool me once, Pinterest, shame on you. Fool me twice…

Anyhow, I found a recipe on Joy the Baker for mushroom and brussels sprout hash, and decided to make some changes here and there. I tried to keep the brussels sprouts the main event, and dialed back on the mushrooms given the boyfriend’s feelings of “meh” toward them. (I also don’t understand you mushroom-haters. Saute them in butter, garlic and wine, and if you still aren’t converted, I give up on everything.) I also added some potatoes for oomph, and bacon for OOOOOMPH (also, because I am bad at following through on bacon-abstention promises). The result was … pretty good, but probably could have benefited from a splash of balsamic vinegar or sprinkle of cayenne pepper. I actually couldn’t open my bottle of balsamic because I am a noodle-armed wussypants – otherwise, I’d be able to confirm. Color me ashamed.

brussels sprouts

diced bacon

diced potatoes

ingredients

pan

 

Mushroom-brussels sprout hash (adapted from Joy the Baker, serves 2)
2 small-medium potatoes, diced small
about 10-12 large brussels sprouts
handful cremini mushrooms, sliced (about 1 cup)
1 small red onion, diced (about 1/2 cup)
1/3 cup diced, thick cut bacon or pancetta
2 garlic cloves, minced
extra olive oil, if necessary

Heat a skillet over medium high heat and add your bacon. Cook until crisped. While the bacon is cooking, rinse your brussels sprouts, remove the ends and slice into thin ribbons.

Remove the bacon from the pan and place on a plate covered with a paper towel. Do not discard the fat, because you’re going to use it for cooking! If the idea of cooking with bacon fat grosses you out and/or makes your heart stop (in a bad way), use olive oil instead.

Add your potatoes to the skillet and cook over medium-high heat, tossing to make sure all the sides are nice and crisp, and that they’re cooked evenly.

Next, add your onion and cook until golden and soft, then add your garlic and cook for about another minute (be careful not to burn it!). Add your mushrooms and cook until they get softer and darker brown. Add your brussels sprouts and, if necessary, some extra olive oil. Toss, cover and cook until the greens and mushrooms are soft and nicely browned. Divide among bowls and serve.

Happy eating!

2 thoughts on “Mushroom-brussels sprout hash.

Leave a Reply

