Slow cooker Guinness short ribs.

ribs 2

So, did everyone else at least have a lovely St. Paddy’s Day? I hope so, because I most certainly did not. Mine was just one of “those days” where it snowed all through my morning commute, the design program I use at work crashed on me 12 times in the span of an hour (I mean literally 12, no exaggeration), the yoga class I wanted to take was cancelled because the instructor was sick (probably drinking green beer instead), and my fridge and freezer stopped working. Thankfully, I had some new episodes of Sherlock to comfort me – seriously, if you need to cure a bad day, just watch the scenes where Sherlock and Watson get drunk during a stag night. Aside from these short ribs, it’s my favorite thing this week.

I love short ribs. Love, love, love. I think it was the Pioneer Woman who described them as little pot roasts, and she’s right. I usually make short ribs by braising them in some combination of beef broth, red wine, vegetables and herbs, but I found this recipe, which calls for using Guinness, so I got myself in the St. Paddy’s Day spirit and made a batch for myself and my friend Jess.

ribs 1

vegetables

shredded 2

sandwich 1

You’ll need a decent sized crock pot for this recipe. I’m sure you could do this in the oven at a low temperature as well if you don’t have one, but I haven’t tried it. If anyone does, let me know how that turns out! You’ll also need a day or two to make this, so the sauce can chill enough for you to easily skim the fat from the surface. Over at Homemade Cravings, they removed the ribs from the sauce and strained the vegetables before chilling the gravy. Which, you know, probably makes things easier, but since I cooked my sauce overnight and was rushing for work in the morning, I just stuck the whole pot in the fridge and decided to deal with it later. My method still worked out fine.

Guinness-braised short rib sandwiches  (Adapted from Homemade Cravings)
3.5-4 lb bone-in short ribs
2 tbsp olive oil
2 cups Guinness
4 cups beef broth
1 cup diced onion
4 carrots, peeled and diced
3 cloves garlic
2 bay leaves
1/2 tsp dried thyme
4 tbsp flour
cheddar cheese (optional)
kaiser rolls (optional)

Season your short ribs with salt and pepper, then heat your olive oil in a skillet over medium high heat. Brown your short ribs on all sides, then set aside.

Put your vegetables and garlic in your crock pot, then place your browned short ribs on top of them. Pour your Guinness and beef broth over the ribs and vegetables, then add your bay leaves and thyme. Cover and cook on low heat for about eight hours.

Remove the inner ceramic pot from your crock pot and place in the refrigerator. Allow to cool for at least eight hours.

Once the sauce has cooled, use a large spoon to remove the solidified fat from the top of the pot. Remove your short ribs and set them aside. Remove and discard the bones, then shred the meat. Strain the sauce and discard your vegetables and herbs. Remove about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of liquid, then pour the rest into a sauce pan. Whisk your flour with the 1/2 to 3/4 liquid, then whisk this into the rest of your gravy and boil until slightly thickened. Reduce the heat, add your shredded beef to the sauce and allow to simmer until reheated. At this point, you could really just serve the ribs with a pile of mashed potatoes and some peas or asparagus, but we went a little further and made some sandwiches, because really, who doesn’t love sandwiches?

If you’re making sandwiches, slice your cheddar cheese and place it on your kaiser rolls. Toast under the broiler for two to three minutes, until the cheese starts to melt and the bread is toasted. Pile some shredded beef on the rolls and serve.

sandwich 2

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

