My favorite roasted potatoes.

DSC_1309

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – one of my favorite things about being a grownup is that I can have roasted potatoes for dinner (or lunch. Or breakfast.) whenever I damn well please. I love their crispy outsides and the feeling of comfort that permeates as soon as you pop one in your mouth. I love the way they smell when they’re cooking. And while I’ve sampled many, many variations, this is the signature, tried-and-true version I make most often. Also, whenever I try making some other kind of roasted potato dish, Colin’s all like, WHY TRY TO IMPROVE PERFECTION*?

*paraphrasing.

I’m going to be honest with you – this recipe is a result of “I’m too lazy to chop garlic” and “Having fresh herbs/a garden is haaaard.” (It’s not. But having even the slightest semblance of a yard is a wistful dream.) I don’t even really measure the ingredients – but this time, I did. Just so I can share it with you fine folks. Unfortunately, most of my pictures came out horrible and sallow-looking, so here’s a picture of Sam looking super concerned. And super cute.

DSC_1215

These potatoes are easy to make, even for those of you with sparse, good-lord-I-need-to-go-food-shopping pantries. They’re vegetarian-friendly (god, even vegan-friendly), and, I think, are a welcome guest at any dinner table. They’re also the perfect side dish (or main dish, if you want to be hardcore about it) for this time of year, and especially when there’s about a foot of snow heaped outside of your house that isn’t going anywhere anytime soon, because apparently you’ve done something to anger Mother Nature and she keeps hurling polar vortexes your way. Apparently someone must have drugged me and moved me to Hoth while I was unconscious, because this… I don’t like this, I didn’t sign up for this, I want no part of it. I think it’s high time the human race considered hibernating, but until more people see the merit in that, I’ll have to content myself with comfort food in the form of roasted potatoes. And pot roast. And anything with the word “roast” in it, really.

DSC_1317

Signature roasted potatoes (Serves 2-4)

4 potatoes (I usually prefer to use red or Yukon golds), unpeeled but cut into relatively-even sized cubes, about 1-inch
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp dried thyme

Preheat your oven to 450F. Put your potatoes in a medium-sized ovenproof dish, then add your olive oil and toss to coat. Sprinkle the potatoes with your salt, pepper, garlic powder and thyme, and toss to coat again. Place the dish in the oven and roast for about 25 minutes. Take the dish out and turn the potatoes to make sure they brown evenly. Return them to the oven and cook for another 20-25 minutes, depending on how brown and crispy you like your roasted potatoes.

DSC_1320

Serve as a side dish to your favorite comfort food main dish. Happy eating!

5 thoughts on “My favorite roasted potatoes.

  1. Pingback: Asian roasted potatoes. | tuppershare

  2. Pingback: Fathers Day Dinner 2014, and the root of why I love cooking. | tuppershare

  3. Pingback: Spaghetti squash gremolata. | tuppershare

Leave a Reply

