Pizza pizza.

toppings

Last weekend was Colin’s birthday, and much to my delight, he told me he wanted me to make him something awesome (“how is this different than any other night I make dinner?” I asked, probably more menacingly than I had intended), which is way better than agonizing over the perfect gift. Although, not to toot my own horn, I’ve picked out some pretty clutch gifts over the years. He’s easy to shop for, which is why I keep him around rules.

You’re probably expecting this post to feature some of the delightful recipes I whipped up on Sunday, right?

Well … sorry. I was too focused on making everything perfect and in a timely fashion, and didn’t take any pictures. Actually, I took one picture, of my homemade Montreal steak seasoning. But that’s it. Yup, I’m a terrible food blogger. In my defense, two of the recipes have already been featured here (although this time I tried a slightly different tomato soup recipe because hey, it’s fresh tomato season), one course was a cheese/charcuterie plate, and one side was steamed green beans. (Beans + water + heat. Done.) So really, the only thing I could have shared with you that would be worthwhile was… erm, well, the main course. I wish I had photographed it, because Colin said it was one of the better steaks he had ever tasted.

I know, right? Terrible, terrible Lauren. But I have another flank steak in the freezer, so sooner rather than later (hopefully), I’ll make this again, and on that evening, I won’t be spinning around my kitchen like a top that is also somehow on crack. So please don’t be peeved … especially because the recipe I’m about to share with you more than makes up for this oversight. Also, it’s pizza. That also features bacon. So really … you can’t be that mad.

I’m sure there are diehard pizza purists out there who would not deign to consider this concoction pizza, what with the store-bought dough and lack of tomato sauce, but for everyone else out there, this pizza is pretty darn delicious. And, since I used store-bought frozen dough and didn’t have to make my own, it came together rather quickly. Honestly, the only thing that took more than 15 minutes was roasting the garlic – and since that doesn’t require a whole lot of supervision, who cares, amiright?

garlic

I’ve made variations of this pizza a couple of other times, subbing asparagus for the spinach (asparagus = good, spinach = better), or throwing on some grape tomatoes and/or baby bella mushrooms, but this one is my favorite – it’s not too laden with toppings, but it’s got a nice combination of flavors that go very, very well with a nice, cold glass of sauvignon blanc.

dollops

I also used duck bacon instead of regular bacon – for the record, fancy shmantzy duck bacon is not normally in my refrigerator, but while food shopping for the aforementioned birthday dinner, I stumbled across a package and my brain basically went, “OH GOD. WE NEED DIS. TREAT. YO. SELF.” (Side note: You totally don’t need dis.)

Roasted garlic goat cheese pizza
frozen pizza dough, thawed
8 oz goat cheese
4-5 garlic cloves (about one small head of garlic), roasted
1 shallot, diced
handful baby spinach, chopped
3-4 slices cooked bacon
cornmeal
flour (if your dough is too sticky, flour your hands before handling it)
2 tbsp butter
pinch of white or brown sugar

To roast garlic: Heat your oven to 375F. Cut the top off of your head of garlic and peel away excess skin – I generally leave one or two layers on. Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and wrap tightly in foil. Bake for about 30 minutes, until garlic is soft.

At this point, turn the heat in your oven up to about 500F.

Once your garlic is cool enough to handle, squeeze the roasted garlic out of its skins and mix with your goat cheese in a small bowl. Set aside.

Add your butter to a small saucepan and melt over medium heat. Once your butter is melted, add in your shallots and lower the heat slightly. Make sure your shallots are totally coated in butter, then add your sugar. Cook for about 10-15 minutes, until they are nicely caramelized and golden in color. Remove from heat and set aside.

Roll out your dough as best you can. Clearly, I am not practiced enough to make a pretty pizza pie. I’ll get there someday.

Sprinkle some cornmeal baking sheet (or pizza stone, if, unlike me, you have one of those), then transfer your rolled-out dough to the sheet. Bake for about five minutes, just so the dough’s consistency isn’t too similar to that of your goat cheese mixture.

Take your dough out of the oven, then spread your goat cheese mixture evenly over the surface. Next, add your shallots, bacon and chopped baby spinach, then pop it back in the oven and bake for another 10-15 minutes. I’ve thought about only adding the spinach for the last five minutes, so it doesn’t dry out too much, but having it in the oven for only about 13 minutes didn’t really do any damage.

Serve. With wine.

baked

Happy eating!

3 thoughts on “Pizza pizza.

Leave a Reply

