Summer saute

DSC_0134

Ok guys. So it’s clear that I really, really love food. Not only do I (semi-regularly) write a food blog, but I’ve also been known to take it into some weird territory by writing love letters to pot pies and what not. I’ll be the first one to push any dish that features gobs of cheese or crispy bacon, but this – this healthy, vegetarian, cheese-free (ok, I caved and added cheese last night) meal – might be my new favorite dinner. I’ve made it the past two nights, and I don’t really see myself wanting anything else in the near future. I get like this with music, too – when I really, really like a song, I listen to it about five dozen times in a row. I’m not (too) ashamed to admit that, currently, all I really want to listen to “Blurred Lines.” I’ve been in this place for about a month and a half. You’d think I’d be ready to stop, but … no.

DSC_0152

I recently discovered a great little farmer’s market not too far from my apartment, and the owners grow a lot of their produce. I’m sure that, come January, there will be slim pickins in terms of “OUR OWN FRESH FILLINTHEBLANK,” but right now, as we settle in to August, it’s a treasure trove of perfectly-ripe tomatoes, sweet corn and zucchini.

DSC_0131

As you might have guessed, this dish features all three – plus some shallots, garlic, a little lemon juice and some wine champagne – it’s what I had on hand because I’m always celebrating, obviously. Throw in some cooked orzo (or grain of choice) at the last minute for good measure, and you’ve got yourself a healthy summer meal!

Summer saute
Serves 2 as a main course, 4 as a side

3 garlic cloves, minced
half a shallot, minced
1 medium-sized or 1/2 large zucchini, peeled and diced
1 medium-sized or 1/2 large summer squash, peeled and diced
1 cup fresh corn kernels (from about 1 ear corn)
1/2 large tomato, diced
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp lemon juice
1/2 cup dry white wine or champagne
grated parmesan or crumbled goat cheese (optional)

DSC_0100

Heat your olive oil in a saucepan over high heat. Once the oil becomes hot, turn the heat down to medium and add your garlic and shallots. Saute until soft and fragrant, then add your corn kernels and lemon juice. Toss to coat, then saute for another few minutes. Next, add your wine or champagne, then turn up the heat and reduce your liquid by half.

DSC_0148

DSC_0109

 

DSC_0115

Turn the heat back down to medium, then add your zucchini and summer squash and cover. Let steam for another few minutes, then add your diced tomato. Cover for another minute or two, until the tomato gets a bit soft. (Side note: I love warm, fresh tomatoes. One of my favorite ways to prepare them is with leafy greens – I saute the greens – usually either spinach or arugula – in garlic and wine, then throw a few grape tomatoes in. I love the way they pop in your mouth. Ommmm.) 

While your vegetables are cooking, prepare your orzo (or couscous, or quinoa, or whatever you like). Once your vegetables are just about done, add your orzo to the pot with the vegetables and toss to coat. Serve with grated parmesan or goat cheese, if you like.

DSC_0118

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

