Down for whatever marinade.

(Originally posted last year)

Image

I am terrible at waking up in the morning. I always have been.

This is not to say that I’m a grunting, wild-haired, coffee-mug-chucking neanderthal before noon. On the contrary, I’m generally quiet and mild-mannered, although admittedly more high-functioning once I’ve had a mug of half-caff. I don’t hate mornings. I actually kind of like them, especially when I get up to walk Sam and the streets are still relatively quiet and uninhabited. What I hate is untangling myself from my pillows and comforters, shedding my cozy pajamas and putting on something work-appropriate and infinitely less comfortable than fuzzy socks and flannel pants. (Yes. I sleep in socks. I know that pretty much everyone thinks it’s weird to sleep in socks. You know what’s weirder than sleeping in socks? Voluntarily sleeping with cold feet. Game, set, match. I win.) And then I have to go to work, instead of playing with Sam, or reading on a beach, or running around outside on one of the final 80-degree days of the year.

But yesterday morning, I couldn’t hit the snooze button, because I had a plan. A plan that involved hauling my flannel-bedecked buns out of bed on time, for once. A plan that involved marinating.

So after begrudgingly pulling myself out of bed, I prepared a savory soy sauce bath for the last piece of steak in my freezer, bleary-eyed, with Sam derping around on the kitchen floor.

Image

The marinade is simple and doable for even those with moderate/meagerly-stocked pantries. It would probably be great with chicken or pork, or even fish — especially salmon (though if I used fish, I certainly wouldn’t marinate it quite as long). You’d love to hang out with this marinade. It’s versatile, it’s delicious…it’s down for whatever! Just don’t add salt. Don’t even salt your meat. Between the soy sauce and the stock, your meat isn’t going to need any salt.

While I cooked mine on the stovetop, I think this would be fantastic on a grill.

Down for whatever marinade
1 cup beef stock
1 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup rice vinegar
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp chili garlic sauce
1 tsp worcestershire sauce
1 tsp sesame oil
4-5 cloves garlic, mashed, minced
juice of 1/2 an orange

Combine your ingredients in a large bowl. Place whatever you choose to marinate (in my case, steak) in the marinade and make sure it’s covered. Cover your bowl and refrigerate. Mine marinated for a good 8-10 hours, but for those of you in a rush, you could probably get away with marinating for 1-2 hours.

Heat 1 tbsp of vegetable or canola oil combined with 1 tsp of sesame oil in a pan over medium-high heat. Once the oil is hot, put your meat steak (you know what, let’s just say steak, for consistency’s sake…) in the pan and cook about 3-4 minutes per side.

Serve with your side dish(es) of choice.

Image

Happy eating!

 

3 thoughts on “Down for whatever marinade.

  1. Slightly similar to a marinade I use. It works on steak, chicken, and fish, but tastes best with steak or fish in my eyes. I toss in a splash of Jack Daniels which kicks it into an awesome place. I will occasionally use the marinade to stir fry veggies as well. Super taste payoff.

      • It really adds to the overall flavor. I don’t use a lot, I just eyeball a splash, but I openly admit that a “splash” in marinade is probably more than I think it is. I only measure when I’m baking and something has to be exact.

Leave a Reply

