Roasted potatoes with blue cheese

In case you didn’t know, I’m quite fond of spuds.

sam-potatoes

In all forms. They’re my favorite carbohydrate, hands down. I spent the past week at my sister’s place near Lake Ontario, and after our dinner Wednesday night, I think I might be in love with poutine. Especially if it’s served with bacon-stout gravy.

One of my favorite dishes (or side dishes, really) is, and has always been, roasted potatoes. And I’m going to be completely honest with you: One of my absolute favorite things about being a grown up is the fact that, since I more or less control what’s for dinner, I can make roasted potatoes whenever the heck I want. I can make them every single day. I’ve been in charge of my own dinner for years and that fact still hasn’t gotten old.

I have a go-to roasted potato dish that Colin loves, and that my old roommate also loved (as evidenced by her picking them out of the baking dish, still hot, mind you) – this is not it. I know, damn me and such. The only reason I haven’t shared it is because I never measure the ingredients, and I’d feel lazy coming here and just saying, “So um, you need these things. I don’t know how much. Just figure it out yourselves. If it doesn’t taste good then you did it wrong.” One of these days I’ll actually measure everything out and share it with you and bask in your applause.

DSC_1477

However, this concoction is quite delicious in its own right. Blue cheese goes very well with hearty potatoes, and while I might not eat a plateful of these for dinner, I will say that they’d be an excellent accompaniment to your favorite beef dish.

Roasted potatoes with blue cheese

3 medium-size potatoes of your choosing (I usually prefer using red potatoes for roasting, but only had russets on hand, which worked out just fine)
2 tbsp butter, diced into small pieces
1 tsp garlic powder
about 1/3 c blue cheese, crumbled
salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat your oven to 450F. Peel your potatoes (this is optional, especially if you’re using reds), then cut into small cubes. Rinse, then place in a baking dish. Place your little pieces of butter throughout the potatoes, so that when it melts, it will evenly distribute over the potatoes. Next, sprinkle the potatoes with garlic powder (you could use minced fresh garlic, but I’m lazy and it’s a Monday, puhleeze), salt and pepper, then top with blue cheese.
Roast in the oven for 20 minutes. Remove from the oven, toss your potatoes to make sure all of the sides get crisp and toasty, then put back in the oven for another 20 minutes. If you like your roasted potatoes to be really crispy, you can put them under the broiler for a minute or two.
DSC_1507
Happy eating!
6 thoughts on “Roasted potatoes with blue cheese

  1. Oh yum. Potatoes and blue cheese is a match made in heaven… it can only be improved with sage and bacon, methinks! Love that Samwise GIF. I always think of myself as a bit of a Hobbit-type-eater (breakfast, morning tea, elevenses, luncheon, afternoon tea…) so it put a huge smile on my face! Love potatoes!

  2. Pingback: My favorite roasted potatoes. | tuppershare

  3. Pingback: Fathers Day Dinner 2014, and the root of why I love cooking. | tuppershare

  4. Pingback: Spaghetti squash gremolata. | tuppershare

Leave a Reply

