When am I gonna need to cook tiramisu? Am I gonna be a chef?

Originally posted November 2012.

Image

I hope you guys had a fantastic Thanksgiving. I know I did. Even though we celebrated a day late because my sister’s father in law is a firefighter and had to work on Thursday, we all had a blast up at Katie’s place in the North Country. Seriously, it’s like, Arctic-north up there. It’s freezing and you can get Canadian stations on the radio. They’re very amusing. Everyone speaks with slight accents and there are commercials about curling. Really.

There were seven humans and five dogs in a two-bedroom apartment, so it was a cacophanus (that’s not a word, is it? I’m making it one. I decided.) holiday weekend-of-sorts. I say “of sorts” because the festivities ended Friday night (for us, at least), when Colin and I, bellies full of turkey and stuffing and tiramisu, embarked on the nearly-six hour trek home. The drive was totally worth the company, though, and it beats the hell out of the 14-hour drive to Savannah, where Katie and Craig used to live. (I’m still a little bummed we never got to visit the Forrest Gump bench, though, and I do miss Tybee Island more than I should.)

Katie, my mom and I did most of the cooking, and, not to brag, but everything came out beautifully. At Colin’s request, I made tiramisu, and was surprised at how simple it is to whip up.

Can I tell you a secret? I’ve always known the day would come where Colin would request that I make tiramisu, either for a holiday or his birthday or some other occasion, and I was so certain I’d muck it up. There was no way I’d come out of that without mucking up his favorite dessert.

Except I did. And I managed it while sharing a tiny kitchen with my mom and sister cooking, my dad washing dishes as we finished them, and five dogs of varying sizes lolling around underfoot, hoping against hope that the turkey would somehow teleport out of the oven and land in front of their noses.

Image

It ain’t gonna happen, Louie.

I used bits and pieces from this Epicurious recipe and this Giada recipe, and the only thing I would have done differently was used more ladyfingers. I used 24, because I have absolutely no sense of foresight and only bought one package at the grocery store. Derp. In the future, I’ll probably opt for 36.

Tiramisu (from Epicurious & Food Network)
3 large eggs, separated
3/4 cup sugar
8 oz mascarpone cheese
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 cups brewed coffee, cooled to room temperature
3 tsp dark rum (I used Sailor Jerry)
24 crispy ladyfingers (I bought soft, more cakelike ladyfingers and just let them toast in the oven for about five minutes)
bittersweet chocolate shavings, for garnish

Beat your yolks and 1/2 cup sugar in a large bowl with an electric hand mixer until thick and pale. Beat in mascarpone until just combined.

In a separate bowl, beat your egg whites with a pinch of salt with cleaned beaters until they just hold soft peaks. Add the remaining 1/4 cup sugar a little at a time, beating, then continue to beat whites until they just hold stiff peaks. 

Image

Be patient, young grasshopper. I was seriously jonesing for my KitchenAid. My mom took over the beating because I think she got tired of me complaining about how long my peaks were taking. Hi Mom!(’s hands!)

In yet another bowl, beat your cream with cleaned beaters until it just holds soft peaks. Fold cream into mascarpone/egg yolk mixture, then fold in your egg whites. 

In…another bowl (yes, there’s going to be quite a bit of cleanup with this recipe. It’s worth it, I think.) stir your coffee and rum together. Dip your ladyfingers in the mixture for a few seconds, then line a glass baking dish with them, making sure they fit snugly – I ended up using 13 ladyfingers on the bottom. Spread your mascarpone mixture over the ladyfingers, then make another layer of ladyfingers, then another layer of mascarpone.

Image

Let it chill in the refrigerator for about five hours. Set it on a higher shelf in there, to keep it out of reach of mischievous dogs.

Image

Hey, that’s me! My arms, anyway.

 Image

Some people (:cough: Dad :cough: Billy) got into the tiramisu before I was able to garnish it, hence the Pacman slice in the finished product. 

Make it for Christmas! Make it for the winter solstice! Make it because it’s Wednesday!

Happy eating!

One thought on “When am I gonna need to cook tiramisu? Am I gonna be a chef?

  1. Pingback: Pizza pizza. | tuppershare

Leave a Reply

