Banana bread, or how I avoided cleaning my kitchen.

Originally posted October 2012.

ImageMixer 1

Mixer 2Dish

After spending Friday cleaning practically every corner of the apartment, Colin asked if I would be so kind as to clean the kitchen for him the next day.

What I said: Sure!
What I didn’t say, but should have also done: Found some sort of magical way to pull the metal stopper out of the drain in the sink so we don’t have to brush our teeth in the bathtub.
What I did: Continued my umpteenth re-read of the Harry Potter series, played with Sam, talked to my college roommate, made banana bread.

I was banking on Colin not caring that the kitchen was still in pretty scruffy shape by the time he got home from work, because that kid loves banana bread.

Also, it’s not like I didn’t clean the kitchen on Sunday. I’m not that horrible.

This banana bread was gone in less than 24 hours, which is a pretty tremendous feat even considering Colin’s love for the stuff.

I have to be honest with you…I really don’t care for banana bread. I’m very picky when it comes to bananas – I actually like them when they’re still practically green. If a banana peel has a brown spot on it, I kinda can’t deal with it. I don’t know. I’m not usually a finicky eater, but with bananas…yech. But Colin likes it, and I kinda like him, so I make it every once in awhile.

Actually, one of the first things (if not the first thing) I ever made Colin was banana bread. I was still living at home, so we had only been together for maybe a couple of months, and he told me he liked banana bread. So, naturally, I whipped up a batch (loaf?) with the help of my mom, and brought it over to his house.

You don’t have to tell me how adorable I am. Colin apparently thought so, too, because 3+ years later he’s still putting up with me.

Fortunately for me, banana bread is super easy to make, and can be doctored up any number of ways — adding nuts, dried fruit, chocolate/peanut butter chips, etc. I chose to throw in a few tablespoons of Nutella. I could have added more, but I didn’t want to overpower the banana flavor. After all, it’s banana bread, not Nutella bread. Although I may be onto something with that…

Banana bread
4 very ripe bananas, peeled
1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup sugar
3 tbsp Nutella
1 tsp baking soda
pinch salt
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

Preheat your oven to 350 and grease a baking dish with butter

Using a stand mixer (a hand mixer would probably be fine too), mash up your bananas. Mix in your butter, then your sugar, egg, vanilla and Nutella. Next, add your baking soda and salt, then mix.

I like to add my flour in two batches, so I don’t get flour everywhere and send Sam into a floor-licking frenzy. Seriously. The pooch likes to lick everything, including flour, corn starch and his own fur, off the floor. I won’t even get into the narrowly-averted sewing needle crisis.

Pour the batter into your buttered baking dish and bake for about an hour. You could wait for it to cool before serving… or not. It’s fine, whatever.

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

