Tortilla time!

Originally posted August 2012.

Good news, everyone! This next recipe is one that someone — gasp — shared with me!

Plates

Yes, you heard (saw?) me. This didn’t come from someone else’s cooking blog, or a magazine, or the Food Network, or Pinterest. By the way, after claiming to be staunchly, adamantly against Pinterest, it has ensnared me and now I’m obsessed. I still maintain that it makes me sad that I don’t have a room made entirely of bookshelves, or an organized walk-in closet full of multicolored boots, but it’s fun, dagnabit, and addictive.

Anyhow, my mom concocted this recipe a couple of months ago, and it was a pretty big hit with my dad. It sounded delicious, so when I went over there with Colin and our mischievous, monstrous fur child this week, I asked her if she’d mind making it for us.

It was good, but good lord, was it spicy. Though, when she told me it was seasoned with adobo, I should have really seen that coming.

Now let’s see… we went over there on Thursday, and since then, Colin has been asking me when I was going to make the recipe on my own. And to make it as spicy as my mom’s. So, since I haven’t really made dinner since…Tuesday? Maybe? I decided to go ahead and make my mom’s spicy chicken wrap-ups. Yeah, I really don’t know what else to call them. I know that name sounds super-chain-restaurant-menu-ish, but that’s what they are. You could classify them as burritos, if you want to be liberal with that term, but they’re lacking in the rice and beans departments. Fortunately, these wrap ups, like Selina Kyle, are adaptable. (I’m revisiting first grade and being Catwoman for Halloween again, by the way.) You could use pork instead of chicken, or add beans and rice. My mom used cheddar cheese, but I used a mix of muenster and cheddar. And, though my mom topped them with avocado slices, I just stopped beating around the bush and globbed guacamole all over them. That’s just how I roll.

Unfortunately (for me), my mom doesn’t really measure anything when she cooks. At this point, she’s been cooking for my father, sister and me for so long she’s got everything down pat and can just eyeball something and know if it’ll work. I, on the other hand, try to measure things so I can…y’know, write about them. And because I’m a little obsessive like that. But I did what I could regarding measurements, for the blog’s sake.

Oh, PS – Please excuse my pictures. I had to take them with my phone, because I think I left my own camera at work, and Colin’s memory card went kaput.

Spicy chicken wrap-ups (courtesy of Mom)
3-4 small chicken thighs, boneless, cut into chunks
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 small Spanish onion, sliced thinly
1/2 c chicken broth
pinch of chicken bouillon cube (I pinched off the corner of a cube, that was fine)
appx. 1 tbsp adobo
1 chipotle chili in adobo, chopped up, plus 1 tsp sauce from can
1 tsp corn starch mixed in water, as a thickening agent
1 cup grated cheese (I used cheddar and muenster)
salt
pepper
olive oil
tortillas
sliced avocados or guacamole (If you’re feeling adventurous, you could make your own. If, like me, you have a really cool co-worker who picks up a giant tube of pre-made guacamole for you at Costco, you can use that, too.)

Cooking

Heat your oil in a large pan, then add the garlic and onions. Saute until they turn soft and golden, then add your chicken and season everything in the pan with adobo, salt and pepper. At this point, you can also add your chili and adobo sauce. Cook the chicken through, then add your broth, bouillon and cornstarch-water mixture, and cook until the liquid thickens up.

One at a time, place your tortillas over the chicken-onion mixture, for about a minute. This serves to warm up the tortilla without it getting all goopy or sticky in the microwave.

Tortilla

Once your tortillas are warmed up, place them on your plates and scoop the chicken mixture into the middle. Top with shredded cheese(s) while the chicken is still hot, to make the cheese all melty and delicious, then top with avocados or guacamole.

With cheese

Fold the sides of your wrap over, then cut your wrap in half. Or quarters. Whichever way you see fit.

Happy eating! Or, happy eating until you hear a clamor in your kitchen and find your puppy nose-deep in a (thankfully, nearly empty) bowl of onion dip.

Sam sour cream

Leave a Reply

