All you need is love. And steak.

Originally posted May 2012.

Image

And puppy kisses. Although I think that probably falls under the “love” category.

Image

Colin and I adopted this adorable, floppy bundle of fuzz, love and needle-sharp teeth a couple of weeks ago, and needless to say, I am completely smitten. Nothing beats coming home to a wiggly little furball so excited to see you they can’t stop jumping up to shower your face with kisses. NOTHING.

His name is Samwise Gump, by the way. Named for the two best people ever created. He wants to be friends with just about everyone. Even you! Aren’t you excited? I bet Sam just made your day.

Besides puppy kisses, you know what else can’t be beat? Steak.

Sometimes, nothing will do but a good steak. With mashed potatoes. And a sweaty beer.

So tonight, after putting our largest issue of the year to bed, driving a good 45 minutes out of my way to get home, on a dreary, dismal Monday, I decided it was time for me to get my steak on.

I took the ol’ London broil out of the freezer, seasoned it with some salt, pepper, dry mustard and garlic salt, and let my stove & oven do their thing.

Butter was also involved. Copious amounts of butter. Paula Deen amounts of butter. If I were lucky enough to be best friends with Allie Brosh, I’d ask her to draw me alot of butter.

I got the concept from Simply Recipes, which has some of the best recipes I have ever tried, and about a million billion more bookmarked, waiting for me to buy things like baby bok choy and mustard seeds, or feel ambitious enough to make shellfish stock.

This is a pretty good, hard-to-mess-up steak recipe if you haven’t got a grill, or if it’s drab and drizzly outside, or whatever. Another fun thing to add to this steak is bearnaise sauce. Oh my god. London broil with bearnaise sauce was proooobably my favorite meal for a solid two years of my childhood. I used to call it “bear-near” sauce (pronounce “bear-near” like a nine-year-old trying to sound like an electric guitar). So, that settles it. I have always been awesome.

Come to think of it, I’ve also always been a steak fan.

Transcript of a conversation between my mother and I, circa 1988.

Mom: Lauren, what would you like for lunch?
Lauren: Barbecued steak!
Mom: …How about a peanut butter and jelly sandwich?
Lauren: ‘Kay! ::toddles off to watch The Wizard of Oz for the 80 billionth time::

I was a relatively easy to please child, albeit with carnivorous tendencies. I also used to try to sneak nibbles of straight butter when my mom was cooking. So really, it was only a matter of time before I concocted (ok, borrowed) this butter-soaked, meat-tastic masterpiece.

Almost-on-par-with-puppy-kisses London broil (from Simply Recipes)

2 lb london broil
salt
pepper
dry mustard
garlic powder
butter

Season your steak with salt, pepper, dry mustard and garlic powder. Melt 1 tablespoon of butter in a heavy saucepan over medium high heat. Brown your steak, cooking about three to four minutes per side. My steak was probably a little more than an inch thick at its thickest, so if your steak is thinner, or if you’ve chosen to pound it with a super cool meat hammer (I have one of those! I pretend I’m Robert Baratheon when I use it!), you probably won’t have to cook it as long. Nor will you have to put it in the oven, probably, but I like doing that because it allows for me to use alot a lot of butter.

Check the internal temperature of the thickest part of your steak. If it’s lower than 130F (the temp for medium rare), preheat your oven to 325. Put your steak in a baking dish, slather it with a good 1-2 tablespoons of butter, and bake for about 15 minutes. Check routinely (every five minutes or so), to make sure your steak hasn’t broken 130.

Or don’t. But I’m neurotic (lovably so, I might add), and I always feel like a failure at life if I overcook steak, so I checked routinely.

Cut into slabs, drizzle with any remaining melted butter and serve with mashed potatoes and roasted vegetables. Or, y’know, whatever. But I made garlic mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus, portabella mushrooms and grape tomatoes, and was NOT disappointed.

Image

Also, all three featured buttah. So really, you can’t go wrong.

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

