A love letter to chocolate cookies and KitchenAid.

Originally posted April 2012.

Image

Hmm?

Image

What’s that?

Image

 

Oh, I’m sorry. I couldn’t hear you over the dazzling beauty of my KitchenAid mixer. It’s red, people. RED! 

I’m a bit in love with this stunning little deceptively heavy baby, which, I’m embarrassed to admit, was procured from a former neighbor looking to get the thing off her hands for a fraction of its market price at least two months ago, and I only broke it out for the first time yesterday. 

Image

 

To be fair, I rarely bake. I think the last time I baked was…Christmastime. When I made…these exact same cocoa thumbprints.

…I’m giving myself the trademark Moore ‘Look’ right now.

But the reason I don’t bake, other than not being one for sweets, is that…It’s not my forte. :gasp: I chalk this up to, baking is a science and cooking is an art, and anyone who knows me that I am pretty much entirely right-brained. In first grade I wrote a letter to “Math” telling it that I hated it and didn’t understand why it was trying to make me understand place value and ruin my life. I really just wanted to spend my time writing stories about the day it snowed Slurpees and the family of kittens who caught chicken pox. 

…Clearly, not a whole lot has changed. Well, I ‘get’ place value now. Give me some credit.

But these cookies are pretty easy (albeit rather messy), and can be tweaked in any number of ways. You can fill the thumb-indentations with anything, from dried fruit to sprinkles to miniature candies. Add mint extract! Or chambord! (maybe! I haven’t tried this, but I can’t imagine that they’d taste bad.) Personally, I’d like to try these with the cocoa dialed back slightly and some coffee/espresso added to the batter. 

Image

 

The only change I made was adding five minutes to the baking time, because when I took the cookies out, they were…well, kinda wet. Like, there was no way they were going to set to any sort of cookie-like consistency. Though I’ve iterated before, my stove and oven are finicky little bastards, so you may not have to do that. Check them at 10 minutes, and see if they need extra time.

Oh, and I didn’t have parchment paper, because really, what am I, prepared? I did have nonstick baking spray, though, which did an admittedly, rather poor job of keeping the cookies from sticking to my *ehem* non-stick cookie pan. Though the cookies on the regular, old cookie sheet came off just fine. Figure that one out, because I can’t.

Cocoa Thumbprints (from Food Network Magazine)

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup granulated sugar, plus 1/2 cup for rolling
1/2 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
6 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
Sprinkles, mini marshmallows, mini candies or dried fruit, for filling

Whisk flour, 3/4 cup of granulated sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt in a large bowl. (If you have a gorgeous crimson KitchenAid you are completely taken with, you can do this in here, with your whisk attachment!)

Image

 

Add the melted butter and eggs and stir until combined.

Cover or wrap your dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Preheat your oven to 325f and either line two baking sheets with parchment (good) or spray with nonstick baking spray (not as good, but satisfactory). 

Place your confectioners’ sugar in one bowl, and your 1/2 cup of granulated sugar in a second bowl. When your dough has finished chilling, roll small amounts of dough into balls (think melon-ball-sized) and roll in the granulated sugar, then confectioners’ sugar.

Image

 

Healthyyyy…

Place them about one inch apart on your baking sheets. Flatten them lightly with your fingers or heel of your hand, then make small indentations with your thumb by pressing in lightly. Fill the indentations with the topping of your choice (in this case, sprinkles).

Image

 

Bake until slightly cracked and puffed, 10 15 minutes. Allow to cool for a few minutes before removing them from your baking sheets. Share them with everyone ever.

Image

 

Happy eating!

 

Leave a Reply

