“It should be pork-tatoes” – Colin

Originally posted February 2012.

Image

So I went to the grocery store yesterday and bought a lot of healthy food. Like, green beans, strawberries, apples, starfruit, arugula, black beans, avocados, quinoa (I seriously can’t wait to be trendy and make quinoa everything)… and not one bag of potato chips!

I know, I’m shocked too.

So you’d think I’d be making something healthy tonight. Like quinoa burgers. Or grilled fish tacos with a black bean/fruit salad and avocado remoulade. Or steamed arugula with garlic and grape tomatoes.

Which are on the agenda. Pinky swear.

But tonight? Pork chops.

And roasted potatoes.

Sorry, waistline. My craptastic cold and ever-growing disdain for the cold (apparently winter is deciding to be winter this week) takes precedence over maintaining my girlish figure. Seriously. I have cold cream slathered under my nose because tissues are wreaking havoc on my skin. To quote the great Anthony Bourdain’s Twitter, I will find solace in pork.

BRING ON THE PORK. AND POTATOES.

…y’know what, at least it isn’t homemade baked mac and cheese with bacon in it. Which I totally made, like, a couple of months ago. Wrote out the recipe, took pictures and everything. Which means I meant to write about it. And didn’t. Probably because that was when I was working 70+ hours a week and often had to choose between sleeping and showering. I’m not gonna lie…I chose sleeping more than once. Like, more than five times, probably.

There’s nothing particularly fancy about this dish. It’s pretty basic, actually – quick & simple, yet delicious. I originally made it with chicken breasts (I think I found that recipe on Foodnetwork.com, but I’m not 100 percent sure), but hey, pork + apples = awesome, so why not mix things up? It’s a little sweet, a little savory, and a lot of yum.

Image

As for the potatoes … good god. So simple (you don’t even have to peel them! Hooray!), yet so, so delicious. And the aroma! Please don’t Sylvia Plath yourselves trying to snarf up as much of the fragrance as your little nostrils can take.

I remember growing up, roasted potatoes were kind of a rarity. They were also probably my favorite way my mom prepared potatoes. I was always a little sad when they were gone from my plate, but now… now I am a grownup. And being a grownup means having roasted potatoes whenever I want. At least, until my metabolism craps out.

Pork chops with apples & red onion
2 boneless pork chops
1/2 red apple, diced
1/2 red onion, diced
1 1/2 tbsp. cider vinegar
3/4 cup chicken broth
flour, for dredging
salt & pepper, for seasoning
2 1/2 tbsp. butter (I used unsalted, because I apparently thought it was necessary to buy 89240 boxes of unsalted butter.)

Season your pork chops with salt and pepper, then dredge in flour. Shake off your excess flour. Heat 1 1/2 tablespoons butter in a saucepan, then add your pork chops to the pan and cook until golden, about 5 minutes each side. After your potatoes are done, place in the oven for an extra five minutes.

Image

While the chops are in the oven, add the onion, apple, and 1/2 tablespoon of butter to the pan. Once the apple starts to turn golden brown and the onion softens, add your cider vinegar. Warning – this is pretty stinky. Just soldier through it. Let it boil about a minute, until the vinegar thickens up and gets syrupy. Then, add your chicken broth. Cook until the broth reduces by about half, then re-season with salt and pepper and add your last tablespoon of butter.

Image

Remove the chops from the oven and put them in the pan with your syrupy, appley, oniony goodness. Let them soak up some of that wonderfulness.

Move the chops to your plate, and spoon the mixture over them.

Roasted potatoes with garlic & rosemary
6 medium-sized red potatoes
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon rosemary leaves
2 tbs olive oil
salt & pepper

Preheat your oven to 450 F.

Dice your potatoes into bite-size chunks.  Put all ingredients in a large bowl, toss to combine (make sure those potatoes are coated!), then transfer to an oven-safe dish.

Bake for 30 minutes. Remove, shuffle those babies around to ensure all-over roasty-crispy goodness, then return to the oven for another 30 minutes, or until golden brown.

Image

Just so.

Image

Obviously, vegetables were necessary, so I steamed some green beans and asparagus and tossed them with a little lemon juice and pepper. Lemon + asparagus = oh mah gahhh.

Alright, I’m off like Ned Stark’s head.

…I’m entirely too nerdy and excited for the new season of Game of Thrones for my own good. Happy eating!

2 thoughts on ““It should be pork-tatoes” – Colin

  1. Pingback: Roasted potatoes with blue cheese | tuppershare

  2. Pingback: My favorite roasted potatoes. | tuppershare

Leave a Reply

